• Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • Instagram - White Circle


Lumberton Ledger




Physical Address:

1238 S. Main

Lumberton, Texas 77657


Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 8031

Lumberton, Texas 77657


Phone: 409-751-5334







© 2019 by Lumberton Ledger

Lumberton ISD Hosts Area 5 Robotics Competition

January 25, 2017




On Saturday, January 21, robotics teams from area schools competed in the TCEA Area 5 Robotics contest at the Lumberton ISD Performing Arts Center and Lumberton Intermediate School.  The Texas Computer Education Association (TCEA) is an organization devoted to the use of technology in education.  It was established in 1980 to support technology in education and has over 14,000 members. 


According to the competition brochure, TCEA “provides its members with the opportunity to explore the impact of robotics.  Participating students from elementary and secondary schools design, collaborate, plan, redesign, construct, create, assemble, invent, reinvent, write, present, and compete to see who has presented the smartest robot.” 


There are two contests in which teams have the opportunity to place first, second, or third; prescribed problem and open-ended invention.  For the intermediate prescribed problem competition, first place went to Viking Robots I (All Saints Episcopal), second place went to Viking Robots II (All Saints Episcopal), and third place went to Zonie (Hardin-Jefferson). 


For the intermediate inventions division, first place went to the 3 Musketeers team (Edward Johnson Memorial Silsbee Middle School), second place went to the same school for the ER Engineers team, and third place went to Team Robo (Lumberton Middle School).


In the advanced inventions category, first place went to team HF Inventions #1 (Hamshire-Fannett High School), second place went to team Tree Erobot 1 (Port Neches Groves High School), and third place went to team HF Inventions #2 (Hamshire-Fannett High School).


The first two teams will automatically advance to the TCEA State Contest to be held May 20.


Participating schools include:  All Saints Episcopal School, Buna Jr. High, EJM-Silsbee Middle School, Henderson Middle School (Hardin-Jefferson), Lumberton Intermediate School, Lumberton Middle School, Port Neches Middle School, Veritas Classical Academy, West Orange Stark Elementary School, Groves Middle School, Buna High School, Hamshire-Fannett High School, Lumberton High School, and Monsignor Kelly Catholic High School.

Please reload